News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/14/2015 5:19:00 PM to 11/14/2019 1:01:39 PM.

News Flash

City News

Posted on: October 14, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Guymon Community Theatre Named Honoree in 2015 Governor's Arts Awards


By Miranda Gilbert
Community Development

It's not every day that someone is honored by the state or the Governor. And it isn't every day that the Governor or a state agency recognizes the Panhandle or one of its town's organizations. But that day is here, and the Guymon Community Theatre is that organization.

Today, the Oklahoma Arts Council (OAC) announced the names of 12 individuals and 8 organizations that will be honored for their contributions to the arts in Oklahoma during the 40th Annual Governor’s Arts Awards.

Among that list of honorees is the Guymon Community Theatre in the Arts in Education Award for their long standing and continued hard work in providing arts education to the community and its children.

The Arts in Education Award recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator, or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefiting youth and/or arts in education. Other honorees in this category are: Tracye Caughell, Bartlesville; Mabee-Gerrer Museum of Art, Shawnee; Opry Heritage Foundation of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City; and The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha.

The awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday, December 2, 2015, in Oklahoma City under the beautiful Captiol Rotunda, surrounded by artists, arts advocates and artwork from across the state.
Governor Mary Fallin will present the awards during a special ceremony beginning at 4:00 p.m. A reception will follow outside the Betty Price Gallery in the Capitol's first floor rotunda. The event is free and open to the public.

Along with presenting awards to the 20 honorees, Governor Fallin and the Oklahoma Arts Council will designate an Oklahoma Cultural Treasure for the first time since 2004.

In an OAC press release Executive Director Amber Sharples said the 40th annual event will be a special occasion.

“This will be a memorable year for the Governor’s Arts Awards,” Sharples said. “We will honor a group of individuals and organizations whose efforts in the arts deserve our praise, and we will recognize a person who is important to the artistic legacy of our state.”
Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are selected from submitted nominations by members of the Governor’s Arts Awards Selection Committee.

More information on the Guymon Community Theatre, its productions and ongoing efforts to restore the marquee visit their website at, find them on Facebook or call 580-338-0019.

There are several other categories of awards that will be presented the same day the community theatre is honored.

The Governor's Award recognizes longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts. Honorees are:
Jeannie Barbour, Ada
Theresa Collins, Tulsa
Gene Dougherty, Tonkawa

The Business in the Arts Award recognizes individuals, businesses and corporations that exhibit outstanding support of the arts in Oklahoma. Honorees are:
Cherokee Nation Businesses, Catoosa
Inter-City Violin Studios, Oklahoma City

The Media in the Arts Award is given to an individual member of the media or media outlet that demonstrates commitment to the arts in Oklahoma documented through public awareness, support, fairness, initiative, creativity, and professionalism in reporting. The honoree is:
Brandy McDonnell, Oklahoma City

The Community Service Award recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism. Honorees are:
Michael Harris, Duncan
Nathan Lee, Oklahoma City
Steve Liggett, Tulsa
Charla Parker, Alva
Tulsa Spotlighters, Inc., Tulsa
Tyler Woods, Oklahoma City

The George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award recognizes an Oklahoma government official or entity for outstanding support of the arts. The honorees are:
Mayor Mick Cornett, Oklahoma City
State Representative Earl Sears, Bartlesville

A Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a unique contribution in support of the arts. The honoree is:
The Chickasaw Nation, Ada

For more information on the OAC and the Governor's Arts Awards contact Joel Gavin, director of marketing and communications, at (405) 521-2037 or


Oklahoma Cultural Treasures
An Oklahoma Cultural Treasure is an individual who is considered especially precious or valuable by a particular period, class, community, or population. He or she must be 70 years of age or older, a bearer of intangible cultural assets, and have outstanding artistic or historical worth.
Oklahoma Cultural Treasures are John Hope Franklin (2004), Wilson Hurley (2002), Charles Banks Wilson (2001), N. Scott Momaday (1999), the five American Indian ballerinas – Yvonne Chouteau, Rosella Hightower, Moscelyne Larkin, Maria Tallchief, and Marjorie Tallchief (1997), Doc Tate Nevaquaya (1995), and Te Ata (1987).

About the Oklahoma Arts Council
The Oklahoma Arts Council is the official state agency for the support and development of the arts. The Council’s mission is to lead, cultivate and support a thriving arts environment, which is essential to quality of life, education and economic vitality for all Oklahomans. The Council provides more than 500 grants to over 250 organizations in communities statewide each year, organizes professional development opportunities for the state's arts and cultural industry, and manages hundreds of works of art in the public spaces of the state Capitol. Additional information is available at

**EDITORS: OAC will announce the name of the Oklahoma Cultural Treasure at a later date.
Media: For more information, please contact Joel Gavin, Director of Marketing and Communications, at (405) 521-2037 or

Facebook Twitter Email